Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Library of Congress Literacy Award Winners 2015 :: First Book, United Through Reading, and Beanstalk

Library of Congress Literacy Award Winners for 2015 Announced
Recipients Are First Book, United Through Reading, and Beanstalk

Acting Librarian of Congress David S. Mao today announced the recipients of the 2015 Library of Congress Literacy Awards, a program originated and sponsored by philanthropist David M. Rubenstein. The Literacy Awards, first announced in January 2013, help support organizations working to alleviate the problems of illiteracy and aliteracy in the United States and worldwide. The awards highlight and reward organizations that do exemplary, innovative and easily replicable work. In conjunction with the awards presentation and its annual Best Practices publication and related programming, the Library of Congress encourages new groups, organizations and individuals to become involved. A formal presentation of the awards will take place next spring.

The recipients are:
David M. Rubenstein Prize ($150,000): First Book
First Book is a nonprofit social enterprise that works to further educational equity by tackling the scarcity of books and educational resources for millions of children growing up in low-income families in the United States and Canada. Through its growing network, currently numbering nearly 200,000 schools, libraries, after-school programs, social-service organizations and other groups serving children in need, First Book has provided more than 135 million books for children ages 0-18 since its inception 23 years ago.

The American Prize ($50,000): United Through Reading
To help active military personnel stay involved in their children’s literacy development, United Through Reading unites military families facing physical separation by facilitating the bonding experience of reading aloud together. The nonprofit organization films service members reading storybooks and sends the video recordings and the books home to their families. The program is based on research showing that reading aloud to children is a key factor in their acquisition of literacy skills.

The International Prize ($50,000): Beanstalk
Beanstalk is a volunteer-based literacy organization that provides one-on-one support to children ages 6 to 11. Teachers refer children to Beanstalk when they are struggling with reading in the classroom and could benefit from enhanced support. Volunteer tutors work consistently with their assigned children, meeting twice a week for the entire school year to read, play and talk together.  READ MORE !

No comments: