Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Library of Congress Accepting Applications for 2015 Literacy Awards

Library of Congress Accepting Applications for 2015 Literacy Awards

News from the Library of Congress: 2.02.2015

Deadline: March 31

Applications are now being accepted for the 2015 Library of Congress Literacy Awards, which are made possible through the generosity of David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and co-CEO of The Carlyle Group.

The trio of awards initiated by Rubenstein were first conferred in 2013 to support organizations working to alleviate the problems of illiteracy, both in the United States and worldwide. The awards seek to recognize organizations doing exemplary, innovative and easily replicable work over a sustained period of time and to encourage new groups, organizations and individuals to become involved.

Applications must be received no later than midnight on March 31, 2015.

Last year, the awards went to Room to Read (the Rubenstein Prize), SMART (the American Prize) and Mother Child Foundation (the International Prize). More information about these organizations and 14 other literacy leaders is available in "Library of Congress Literacy Awards 2014: Best Practices."

The Library of Congress Literacy Awards are administered by the Library’s Center for the Book. Final selection of prizewinners will be made by the Librarian of Congress with recommendations from literacy experts on an advisory board.

By recognizing current achievements, the awards seek to inspire organizations, foundations, and other private sector groups to become involved in combating illiteracy.
- encourage the continuing development of innovative methods for combating illiteracy
- dissemination of the most effective practices
- draw public attention to the continuing need for literacy services
- increase awareness of the importance of literacy
The Rubenstein Prize ($150,000) will be awarded to any organization based either inside or outside the United States.
The American Prize ($50,000) will be awarded to any organization that is based in the United States.
The International Prize ($50,000) will be awarded to any organization that is based in a country outside the United States.
Each organization may only apply in one prize category. In the case of multiple nominations for the same organization, the board may review only one application.

No comments: